By E.D. King

[TV Announcer] “. . . up next, exciting scenes from next week’s episode after these messages.”

[Dad]  “Okay, kids time for bed.”

[Kids]  “But Dad, we want to see the exciting scenes!”

[Dad]  “If you don’t go to bed, I’ll show you some exciting scenes!”

This was a common occurrence at the Clark (Susan, my wife’s) household and probably every other middle class home in the 1960’s.  Every night, we sat in front of a large piece of furniture that provided us knowledge, entertainment, happiness, sadness and, of course, these exciting scenes

  • Mr. Ed – a wise-cracking horse who knew more than his owner.
  • Pinocchio – a star-struck disobedient puppet/boy swallowed by a whale.
  • The Man from U.N.C.L.E. – two spies for the good guys who always got away.
  • Hogan’s Heroes – a prisoner was running the prison.
  • The Sword in the Stone – a boy who could do the impossible with a weapon and became king by divine providence.
  • Superman – a man with incredible strength and abilities but with a secret weakness.

Where did they come up with this stuff?  It was so captivating.  The good guys always won and when they didn’t, we didn’t like it.  Many of the stories left you hanging until next week. Never had I seen or heard anything like it before . . . or had I?  

Wait a minute, I’ve heard all these stories before in Bible class, except where was God on TV?    Could this be what Solomon meant when he said, “…there’s nothing new under the sun?”  Were the entertainment writers plagiarizing the Bible?  Maybe. But what about those exciting scenes on TV that left me hanging from week to week?  Were they in the Bible too?

To quote my late father in-law, “I’ll show you some exciting scenes!”

1 Thessalonians 4:16 “For the LORD himself shall come down from heaven with a command, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trumpet call of GOD, and the dead in Christ will rise first.”

Yikes, that visual scares me to death.  How about you?  Imagine seeing that, not on a widescreen TV, but out in your front yard.  But wait, there’s more. . .

4:17 “After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the LORD in the air.”

OH . . . MY . . . Now I’m mortified, but I’m glad the good guys are going to win.  Wait a second while I turn on some more lights.

4:18 “Therefore encourage one another with these words.”

“With these words?!”  What words?  The words I just read?  That’s the end of Chapter 4.  So far, I’m not encouraged.  I’m scared.  These exciting scenes are more than I bargained for.  

I don’t know about you, but I’ve got to find the next episode and these “words of encouragement.”  Were they in chapter 4 or are they in chapter 5?  Is there even a fifth chapter of 1st Thessalonians?  

I’ve got to know, otherwise, I won’t be able to sleep tonight.
[TV Announcer] “. . . up next, Lost in Space.

